Latest News

Prof. Hou Xiaolin won the 2019 Vladimír Majer Medal

On April 26, 2019, HOU Xiaolin, professor of the School of Nuclear Science and Technology, Lanzhou University, was awarded the 2019 Vladimír Majer Medal for his contribution to the “low-level determination of radionuclides using radioanalytical and mass spectrometric methods”[1], as well as for the long-term and fruitful cooperation with Czech radiochemists in the field of nuclear and radiochemistry. It is reported that Professor HOU Xiaolin is the seventh holder of the Vladimír Majer Medal and the first Chinese prize-winner.

Professor HOU Xiaolin has long been engaged in radioanalysis and the application of radioisotopes in environmental and earth sciences, and established a series of trace analysis methods for radionuclides. He has developed extensive international cooperation and presided over a number of international cooperation projects, which have been widely recognized by international counterparts. Some of his methods for radionuclide analysis have been broadly used in similar laboratories around the world. Professor HOU Xiaolin has published more than 200 academic papers in world-renowned journals with more than 3200 SCI citations, published 1 English monograph, compiled 6 English monographs, and wrote 6 chapters for the encyclopedia. He is currently the distinguished expert of International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) and a member of the presidium of the International Society of Nuclear Chemistry. He is also the managing director of the European Chemical Society and editorial board member of more than 20 international journals including J. Environ. Radioact, JRNC, and Sci. Reports. He won the Youth Chemistry Award of Chinese Chemistry Association and 7 provincial-level scientific and technological progress awards.

Vladimír Majer Medal Award is presented by the Nuclear Chemistry working group of the Czech Chemical Society to scientists who significantly contributed to the development of nuclear chemistry and/or played a decisive role in the development of some its area[2]. Candidates for the award are nominated by members of the Czech Chemical Society, and the nomination is usually completed by June 30 each year. All the nominated candidates will be reviewed by an expert panel consisting of the chairman and two members of the working committee. The working group committee will make the selection according to the proposal of the expert panel and finally submit the selection to the President of the presidium of the Czech Chemical Society for confirmation.The names of the laureates will be recorded on the list of all recipients of the Vladimír Majer Medal. Up to now, seven scholars have received the award around the world.


Translator: LIU Xiaohui